Home > Uncategorized > When Grammy meets social media

When Grammy meets social media

Since the craze of social media becomes all-time high, I want to talk about social media marketing in entertainment circles, especially the 52nd Grammy Gala last night. Social media communication seems ubiquitous throughout the awarding ceremony.

I watched the show not but the whole package. My favorite part had to be the nominees’  impromptu interview before the ceremony. Some conversations really made me laugh aloud. Under such a chaotic circumstance, one of the hosts couldn’t help laughing at her own gibberish. Unsurprisingly, she helped marketing the interviewees by repeating their MySpace blog URLs and encouraged twitter feedback from the viewers. Poor girl! Because of social media, she had to remember tons of URLs in addition to celebrities’ names.

As the show went on, the puff ad of We Are the Fan appeared on a rolling basis. So I checked out the site. I have to say it’s a great online community where fans can upload their homemade videos to support these Grammy finalists. That reminds me of another form of social media experience: Video Blogs or vlog. In the meantime, I like the social media ballots submission feature too. But I’m not quite sure if this is something new this year. So come to think of it, social media is pretty user-friendly as to the adoptability. What’s amazing is that it brings communicators closer by combining a bunch of telecom tech, i.e., mobile and Internet, thus providing the new experience and enormous marketing potentials.

This morning, I was told that Beyonce was the biggest winner from my loyal tweets rather than news report. Of course, I would’ve known it from my WallStreet Journal podcast without Twitter. But nothing compares the rush of hearing something from your regulars. Once again, I’m convinced that social media is not a fad, but a double-edged sword that makes the entertainment business juicy and avails marketers of a slew of possibilities.

For Beyonce’s fans, you can have a flavor of her pages at www.myspace.com/beyonce;  www.wereallfans.com/#/Beyonce/

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

