Home > Uncategorized > Foursquare from a Colombian perspective

Foursquare from a Colombian perspective

I just signed in on Foursquare a couple of months ago. I have found the application amazing but have to confess that I was a little frightened of using it. I just don’t fell comfortable telling where I am, and what I like.
I am from Colombia, a country that allows you a wonderful quality if life, as long as you don’t tell much about yourself. Those who tell what they do, where they go and what they have, are usually target of violent groups. Facebook, Myspace, twitter and others have become sources of information for insurgent groups. So, if you want a peaceful life, you don’t publish any kind of information that could be used against yourself.
So I wonder, how Foursquare or Gowalla, or any other Location tool will work on a country like Colombia, where people will not check-in in the places they go. From my perspective, location-based tools can become dangerous tools.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Cathy Waters
    April 8, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    Carolina, a great post that illustrates the important cultural and political issues that must be considered when marketing location-based products and services.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

