Home > Uncategorized > Come and get it while it’s hot! Free brand awareness!

Come and get it while it’s hot! Free brand awareness!

The other day I was listening to the radio and, like a typical American consumer, focusing on eight things at once. A Dunkin’ Donuts commercial squawked in the background while I checked email, folded laundry, updated Twitter, etc. But then, I stopped in my tracks as I realized that what I was hearing was not an ad for Dunkin, but a commercial for Boar’s Head deli meats.

Why the confusion? As I multi-tasked, the only part of the commercial that registered in my overadvertised brain was the voiceover. I automatically linked the familiar audio to Dunkin, without realizing that the donut promoter also speaks for the Boar’s Head brand. (Joseph Sirola, the man behind the distinctive voice, also did several TV voiceovers for Wendy’s until 2003.)

This ‘revelation’ sent me into marketing mode and I wondered if this phenomenon happens to other radio listeners. A Boar’s Head spot with intention of making me drool over my next lunch option unintentionally caused me to crave a Dunkaccino and bagel. Or at least, I thought about. Brand awareness – check!

So what does this mean for the brands intertwined in this voiceover triangle? My conclusion is that the result is free brand recognition for the non-advertiser. DD piggybacks off of BH and vice versa. And while this example didn’t cause me to buy turkey or a donut, it definitely registered with me as a unique (and most likely unintentional) marketing flub of genius.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Rob Graham
    September 28, 2010 at 12:03 am

    Reminds me of the late Don Lafontaine who was famous for his ‘In a world…’ dramatic ads mostly for movies. Makes it hard to move on to doing voice overs for less dramatic products.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

