Home > Uncategorized > The #1 Email Newsletter Mistake

The #1 Email Newsletter Mistake

Raise your hand if you’ve ever been added to an email newsletter list and never asked for it. OK, so all of you. Some marketing department somewhere is bragging about how many potential customers they’ve added to their client list, and meanwhile you’re getting annoyed at daily emails.

Unsolicited emails are called spam. If you never opted in to an email list, you are being spammed. It doesn’t matter if the emails are coming from an African prince or a store you can find in every mall in America – if you didn’t ask for it, it’s spam.

I’m one of those people who is OK with getting emails from companies I buy from regularly. I want to hear about the sale this month at Ann Taylor Loft. And that’s why when they asked for my email address at the register, I said, sure, add me to your list. But I never asked Victoria’s Secret to put me on their list, and so I’m annoyed that I’m getting emails every day about how I can make my bust appear 5 cup sizes larger.

So if you’re starting an email newsletter, have your list members opt in. Better yet, have a double opt-in. A double opt-in means they sign up, and then they have to click a confirmation link when they get an email about opting in.

Even if you have a double opt-in, people will forget and mark you as spam. I send an email newsletter out to about 4,000 people once a month. Every month, without fail, 2-3 people (usually with a Yahoo email address, why is that?) mark my email as spam. These people don’t understand what spam is. They think if they don’t want it anymore, this is how they get off the list. If I were a real spammer, this would not get them off my list. Because I am not a spammer, I have a prominent “Unsubscribe” link that unsubscribes they from the list immediately.

What it all comes down to is you don’t want to be sending your message to people who don’t want to receive it. If someone wants to unsubscribe from my list, yes, I’m sad, but I’m not going to keep sending messages to them against their wishes. That’s counterproductive because I only want to send to people who are receptive to my message. And, if they’re just going to be getting mad about getting an email from me, something tells me they’re not going to want to buy anything from me.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

