Home > Uncategorized > 10 Most Annoying Things About Online Ads

10 Most Annoying Things About Online Ads

The following list may seem cynical, and pessimistic (choose any word you like), but it is the truth that we all have had toward online ads. It is important to remember this list when making your own ad, because this is what most average Joe consumer has to deal with.

  1. When the online ad takes over your entire screen and there is no way of getting out of it. I am not sure what it is but when an ad disrupts me from doing my work and forces me to watch what they have to offer, it drives me crazy. So much in fact, that if its a product I am on the fences about, I will most likely avoid that product forever.
  2. When I see an ad for someones twitter account, its just annoying. Knowing how to tweet and having some followers should not be a career
  3. When there is a banner ad with sound, which hides the mute button. Extremely annoying
  4. Certain sites (will remain nameless) that seem to think they know you and have ads that are only for you. Its unbelievably annoying to think that some website knows me just from a few purchases I have made
  5. As a fellow marketer it annoys me to see online ads that are sad and depressing looking. I mean you are trying to entice people to do something, don’t make them turn away because your ad is pathetic looking
  6. When an ad has a mixture of UpPEr CaSe and LoWeR CaSe letters. Do they really think that this is going to entice us to find out more about them by doing that
  7. If you are watching a movie or television show that is interrupted for a brief commercial break which you cannot skip through. I know that for sites to show this entertainment they have to make money somehow but could I maybe have the choice to interrupt in the beginning or the end. Just not when I am really into the movie or show.
  8. To continue on number seven…If these ads ask me if what I saw was relevant to me. They just interrupted my show and now they want me to discuss if it was relevant. Not a chance
  9. If an ad tells me about winning a contest. This one wouldn’t annoy me so much if I didn’t fall for it once every couple of months.
  10. A huge annoyance is when the ad turns out to be a virus or spam. No explanation needed
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

