Home > Uncategorized > Is Pinterest Secretly Destroying Us?

Is Pinterest Secretly Destroying Us?

pinterestlogo

I don’t know about you, but I use to love Pinterest. Whenever I had a free moment, you could bet that I was pinning, organizing and of course dreaming that I would one day own that dress, make that dish, climb that mountain and of course have that unbelievable walk-in closet. However, I began to feel that when I was done pinning, I was left feeling less inspired and motivated then when I had started.

I began to realize, I spent far too much time fantasizing about the ideal world portrayed through the thousands of “pins” rather than appreciating the life I have and the world I am actually living in. The more I think about it, the more I see Pinterest as another way to solidify stereotypes, gender norms, and make everyone feel a little less adequate. We scroll up and down, hours upon hours, wishing and wanting and feeling like if we were to obtain these items and lifestyles, we would then be one step closer to a better, tastier, prettier and more adventurous self. Now that I think of it, there have been plenty of times I have closed my computer, after a long Pinterest session, looked up and thought“ I am so poor, uncreative and never going to one day swim in the crystal clear waters of Bali or climb Rapunzel’s Tower in Wales (who knows if these places are even what they really look like, thanks to the wonderful world of Photoshop, but that’s a whole other story). Come to think of it, who has ever pinned something they actually own or have done? It rarely happens, because we all seem to be fixated on the idea of being completely unsatisfied with the present, and constantly wanting more.

Pinterestboard

Fellow blogger Ashley Witzel, who contributed to skirt.com with a blog post titled, “Pinterest is ruining my life”, not only further validates my point and feelings but also offers a GREAT solution to this growing internal struggle.

“Pinterest makes me feel like a loser. To combat that, today I started a new Pinterest board today called “things I have” so that I can review that from time to time and remind myself of all of the wonderful blessings I have in my life. If you too are Pinterest Possessed, I encourage you to start one.”

I am not here to complain about my own life, I just worry that the intentions of Pinterest are beginning to be a bit skewed and potentially doing more harm than good. There is no doubt that Pinterest has proved to be a very profitable and successful medium for businesses and marketers, however, I just feel we need to be extra careful about how it is used and better understand its true purpose and value.

But for now…we continue to pin.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

