Home > Uncategorized > What to look for in the multicultural marketing?

What to look for in the multicultural marketing?

I cannot stop nodding when I read this article(link below). As a Chinese, I do feel the rapid growth of Chinese-speaking population in the U.S.A. Even a Japanese journalist astonished by the large amount of Chinese people in Boston compared to several years ago. Therefore, it is essential to have a more sophisticated approach to this multicultural marketing.

I was very surprised the first time I heard a Chinese song in a Japanese Commercial (link 1). Music is always a good stimulate to consumers. I did found myself pay more attention to this particular brand than others. I heard more Chinese songs in Japanese commercials after that. However, those commercials do not impress me anymore. Some brands even left me a negative feeling because the song they chose does not match the brand at all.

I can tell that marketers are trying to attract the multicultural market. Sadly, their approach always ends up putting a Chinese man/woman in the commercial or just let them speak Chinese (Link 2).

Let consumers think “That’s me!” is a goal in most of the commercials. This goal should not be changed when targeting different cultures. A good commercial should involve cultural experience instead of just inserting the language they are familiar with.  Think about questions like how do they live? What do they value? Only in this way can marketers touch the bottom of their heart. 

http://www.adweek.com/news/advertising-branding/brands-need-new-way-thinking-145118#1

Link 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XBHitw72ZkI

Link 2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P1twxVVEpDw

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

